Woodland Animal Cookies

A few weekends ago, friends and I helped throw a shower for our friend, who is due with her first child any day now.  We went with a woodlands theme and had SO much fun planning and decorating.  I ended up making these adorable fox, squirrel, and hedgehog cookies to go with the theme and I love how they turned out!

IMG_4731

My sister-in-law gave me a set of woodland animal cookie cutters a long time ago, and I was so happy to be able to pull them out, and repurpose a star cookie cutter for the fox design.  For inspiration for the fox, I used a tutorial from The Bearfoot Baker, who has such cute cookie creations!  I used leftover icing colors from the fox to create the squirrels and hedgehogs.  While the brown icing was wet on the hedgehogs, I added chocolate jimmies to give them a more textured look.  I also used tipless piping bags for the eye and nose details on the hedgehogs and squirrels – I’d ordered them online and they came just in time for these cookies!  They’re great for small details and I’ll be using them for that, as well as lettering in the future.

My friend Shannon made the adorable cupcakes using fondant for the toadstools, and sliced almonds the pinecone type cupcakes.  A lot of work went into them and it was so worth it, because they were adorable.  And how cute is that fox bunting??  I’d asked my talented friend, Brenda, to create the invitations. She’s a local graphic designer and you can check out her work here.  They turned out SO cute and went so well with the theme.  We’re all excited  to meet our friend’s little one soon, and it was a wonderful afternoon celebrating her!

IMG_4779

Leave a Reply

