Meeting Sally + Apple Crumble Pie

IMG_3421

How is your fall going so far?  Is it filled with pumpkin everything (guilty!), football, gorgeous leaves, and all the fall desserts?  Because mine totally is.  My fall is SO full of football that I almost missed the opportunity to meet one of my all time favorite bloggers due to one of our games happening at the exact same time as her book signing (WHY?!).  Thankfully, the stars aligned, our game time was switched to the afternoon, and I got to rush my crazy self down to the Mall of America to meet Sally, of Sally’s Baking Addiction for her book signing.  If you haven’t checked our her latest cookbook, Sally’s Candy Addiction, I highly recommend it!  I ordered it right after finding out I could attend her book signing, and thanks to the super speed of Amazon Prime shipping, I got it just in time!


IMG_3433                         IMG_3435

I mayyyyyyyy have waited at Williams-Sonoma for an hour and a half, and let me tell you, there are only so many times you can circle around that store.  It totally paid off though, as I was fourth in line to meet her, got to have a nice chat with her (without totally geeking-out, I hope), and got myself back up to campus in time to watch some awesome football.  That evening I flipped through her cookbook, and made a mental note of the recipes I wanted to try that week (hello peanut butter cups and pumpkin spice toffee!).

IMG_4489    IMG_4493

I was helping to host a women’s event last week at our church, which included all the fall things, like pies, pies, and more pies, as well as  some of Sally’s homemade candy, apple nachos, and warm spiced cider.  It was such a fun event!

IMG_4510

One of the pies that I made was the Apple Crumble Pie from Sally’s blog (can you see the theme going on here?).  I’d made this pie before, knowing that both my husband and I prefer a crumble topping, and it did not disappoint.  Have you ever been on a quest to find the perfect recipe of a certain dish?  My quest ended after making this pie!  Everything about it screams yummy! Side note – it is totally worth making this homemade crust.  It can be made a head of time and pulled out of the fridge when you’re ready, or frozen for a later date.  I’ve done it both ways and it doesn’t change the taste at all.   If you guys try any new pie recipe this season, you MUST try this one!

IMG_4504

Apple Crumble Pie

Homemade Pie Crust of your choice (but seriously, try this recipe)
5 large apples, cored, peeled, and sliced (I used Granny Smith and Cortland)
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
¼ cup all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon ground cloves
1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon
½ cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon extract

CRUMBLE TOPPING

½ cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
¾ cup all-purpose flour
¾ cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Make the pie crust, and keep in the fridge until ready for use.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix the apples, lemon juice, flour, spices, sugar, and vanilla together until well combined.  Set this aside.

Roll out the chilled pie dough on a floured surface (unless using a store bought pie crust).  Once rolled out, carefully transfer to a 9 inch pie dish.  I used my deep dish pie dish for this particular pie and it worked great!   Pour the apple mixture into the pie and spread around until evenly distributed.  Trim any excess dough, and prepare the edges based on your preference. Evenly sprinkle crumble topping over the apples.

To avoid any spilling over, put the pie on a baking sheet, and bake for 20 minutes.  After this point, I like the cover the pie with aluminum foil to prevent burning.  Turn down the oven to 375 degrees, and bake for an additional 30 minutes.   Remove from the oven and let cool before serving!

Recipe courtesy of Sally’s Baking Addiction

Leave a Reply

