Food and Fellowship

I love food, I always have.  I can remember a time when I was really little, helping my dad bake Christmas cookies listening to Porky the Pig sing I’ll Have a Blue Christmas. Does anyone remember this? It was definitely on the list of weird Christmas songs.  Every year we’d make a TON of cookies for our little four member family, and eat for them for months it seemed.  This was my initial introduction into cooking. Once I got to college, I majored in nutrition, and living in an apartment with four other girls taught me better how to prepare foods, and the importance of the dinner table (not that we had a table – we had this awful see through glass coffee table that we were constantly bruising our legs on.)  One of my roommates even taught me the importance of vegetables as she forced me to eat them (thank you Whitney!) and try new ones as we created multiple different stir fries in our little apartment.  All of us grew a lot in our cooking skills and abilities during those two years, and we enjoyed a multitude of laughter in that kitchen with every flop or success we had.  Food is my passion – not just because we need it to survive, but because it brings us all together for various occasions, such as birthdays, holidays, church gatherings, funerals, and general family meals. It’s something that unites everyone, whether we have a million things in common or not.  Whether your dinner table is a coffee table, bar stool area, a circle of chairs around a friend’s living room, or an actual kitchen table, we have experienced the magic this area brings when we are surrounded by friends, family, and food.  The laughs, the tears, and the important conversations. My goal with this blog is to not only share recipes I’ve made, but the story and reasons behind making them, shared with friends, family, and coworkers.  I hope you enjoy this journey!

Leave a Reply

